Second Alert to Help NJ Breweries

We are once again asking for your help in support of New Jersey brewers and consumers.

On Monday, June 18, New Jersey's Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee will meet to vote on S-641. The bill, developed by the Garden State Craft Brewers Guild, will give all craft brewers in the state more flexibility in how, when and where they sell and promote their beer.

Please contact the members of the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee (listed below) by Friday, June 15, to let them know that you support the legislation as a craft beer consumer and ask them to VOTE YES on the bill. 

Current regulations highly restrict what New Jersey brewers can do—especially when compared to the surrounding states of New York, Pennsylvania and Delaware. 

Specifically, this bill would allow:
  • One company to open more than two brewpubs
  • Production breweries to sell beer for on- and off-premise consumption
  • Breweries and brewpubs to conduct informational tastings off-premise
  • Brewpubs to distribute beer through the wholesale network
This will lead to a healthier environment for small brewers and more choices for craft beer consumers.

When calling the members of the committee, you should comment on how this bill will help small brewers continue to create jobs, improve tourism opportunities and cut needless red tape. From the consumer perspective, you should comment on how the bill will allow you to have better access to the locally made craft beers you love. 

Remember, please call or email these members by Friday, June 15 to make sure your voice is heard and your support for S-641 is registered. 

Thank you for your continued support of New Jersey's craft brewers.

Members of the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee

Senator Paul Sarlo, Chair
(201) 804-8118 

Senator Brian Stack
(201) 721-5263 

Senator Jennifer Beck
(732) 933-1591 

Senator Anthony Bucco
(973) 627-9700 

Senator Sandra Cunningham
(201) 451-5100 

Senator Linda Greenstein
(609) 395-9911 

Senator Kevin O’Toole
(973) 237-1360 

Senator Steven Oroho
(973) 300-0200 

Senator Joseph Pennacchio
(973) 227-4012 

Senator Nellie Pou
(973) 247-1555 

Senator Teresa Ruiz
(973) 484-1000 

Senator Jeff Van Drew
(609) 465-0700 

Senator Loretta Weinberg
(201) 928-0100 

Comments (0)

Add a Comment

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>Add a new comment: