We Need You to Help Your NJ Breweries

On ThursdayJune 7th, New Jersey's Assembly Law and Public Safety Committee will meet to vote on A-1277. The bill, developed by the Garden State Craft Brewers Guild, will give all craft brewers in the state more flexibility in how, when and where they sell and promote their beer.

By Wednesday, June 6th, please contact the members of the Assembly Law and Public Safety Committee (listed below) to let them know that you support the legislation as a craft beer consumer and ask them to VOTE YES on the bill. 

It's especially important if you live in the district of one of the committee members.  Not sure who your legislators are?  Find out here.  

Current regulations highly restrict what New Jersey brewers can do—especially when compared to the surrounding states of New York, Pennsylvania and Delaware. 

Specifically, this bill would allow:

  • one company to open more than two brewpubs
  • production breweries to sell beer for on and off premise consumption
  • breweries and brewpubs to conduct informational tastings off premise
  • brewpubs to distribute beer through the wholesale network


This will lead to a healthier environment for small brewers and more choices for craft beer consumers.

When calling the members of the committee, you should comment on how this bill will help small brewers continue to create jobs, improve tourism opportunities and cut needless red tape. From the consumer perspective, you should comment on how the bill will allow you to have better access to the locally made craft beers you love and want more of. 

Remember, please call or email these members by Wednesday, June 6th to make sure your voice is heard and your support for A-1277 is registered. 

Thank you for your continued support of New Jersey's craft brewers.

Members of the Assembly Law and Public Safety Committee

Mainor, Charles – Chair

 (201) 536-7851


Wilson, Gilbert – Vice Chair

(856) 547-4800


Albano, Nelson

 (856) 696-7109


Benson, Daniel

 (609) 631-0198


Connors, Sean

 (201) 795-9190


Cryan, Joseph

 (908) 624-0880


Kean, Sean

 (732) 974-0400


McGuckin, Gregory

 (732) 840-9028


Peterson, Erik

 (908) 238-0251


Rible, David

(732) 974-0400


Watson Coleman, Bonnie

 (609) 292-0500



Comments (2)

  1. Ken A:
    Jun 04, 2012 at 08:53 PM

    Unfortunately I'm not in any of their districts, but I just contacted them all anyway. Good Luck!

  2. Gene Muller:
    Jun 07, 2012 at 06:58 PM

    It passed in committee, now moves on. Many steps. Cheers and thanks for your help!

Add a Comment

Allowed tags: <b><i><br>Add a new comment: